LITTLE ROCK, ARK – May 21, 2018 – The Arkansas Foundation for Medical Care’s (AFMC) Board of Directors recently elected new officers to lead the board for the next year, as well as two new board members. AFMC is a health improvement organization that has served Arkansas physicians and the health care community for more than 45 years.

Stacy C. Zimmerman, MD, a practicing physician in Searcy, will lead the 15-member board as its new chair. Other newly elected members of the AFMC Board’s Executive Committee include Vice Chair Harvey Potts, MD, MPH, of Fort Smith; Treasurer Jennifer Styron of Little Rock; Secretary Alan Wilson, MD, of Crossett; and Member-at-Large LaDell Douglas, MD, of Hope.

Dr. Jane Sneed of Jonesboro and Dr. Danny Wilkerson of Little Rock were newly elected to the AFMC’s Board of Directors at its May annual membership meeting. Both physicians will serve a two-year term beginning immediately.

Dr. Sneed, a board-certified pediatrician with The Children’s Clinic in Jonesboro, earned her medical degree in 1989 from the University of Tennessee Center for the Health Sciences in Memphis. She completed her pediatric residency at Lebonheur Children’s Hospital in Memphis in 1992 and was chief resident from 1992-93 at Lebonheur.

Dr. Sneed has also served as chief of staff at St. Bernard’s Regional Medical Center in Jonesboro from 2015-17 and has been practicing pediatrics full time since 1994.

A “champion of the patient-centered medical home (PCMH) model,” Sneed says, “I understand that the present cost of medical care is not sustainable at its current rate of growth … I totally acknowledge the need to practice evidence-based medicine to get the best outcome in the most cost-effective manner.”

Dr. Sneed has served the community on several boards of directors including past president of the Arkansas Board of Health, Court Appointed Special Advocates and the State Volunteer Mutual Insurance Company.

Dr. Wilkerson is a board-certified anesthesiologist and has practiced for more than 30 years in both private practice and university teaching. He has been a professor in both the departments of obstetrics, and gynecology and anesthesiology at UAMS since 2012. From 2003-14 he served as medical director for OB anesthesiology at UAMS.

He earned his medical degree in 1983 from UAMS and completed his anesthesiology residency there in 1986. He relocated to Rogers and practiced anesthesiology for 14 years at St. Mary’s Rogers Memorial Hospital. He was also medical director, department of anesthesiology at St. Mary’s from 1990-2000.

In 2000 he returned to UAMS and is currently a professor in the Department of Anesthesiology and holds a secondary appointment in the UAMS Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology. He has served as medical director of the Division of Obstetric Anesthesiology, working with high-risk cases. Wilkerson also served on the anesthesiologist staff of the John L. McClellan VA Hospital in Little Rock.

Dr. Wilkerson says he wants to, “provide quality health care for fewer dollars spent through cost sharing such as electronic medical records and Health Information Management systems.”

He has served the medical community as member and president of the boards of both the Arkansas Medical Society and the Arkansas Society of Anesthesiologists; board president of both the Benton and Pulaski County Medical Societies and Arkansas Director of the American Society of Anesthesiologists Board. He was named one of the Best Doctors in America every year from 2009-2015.

Dr. Wilkerson has also volunteered on medical mission trips to Honduras, has participated in an emergency assistance course for the Red Cross and served on the Anesthesia Tech Advisory Board of Pulaski Technical College.