Arkansas Medicaid and AFMC released more than $3.2 million in performance bonus payments to 15 Arkansas hospitals as part of the annual Inpatient Quality Incentive (IQI) program. This is the 10th year IQI has given incentive payments to hospitals.

Since the IQI program began in 2007, Arkansas Medicaid has awarded $40 million to hospitals that have participated in the program and successfully improved care. Through the IQI program, Arkansas hospitals are now screening 99 percent of admitted patients for tobacco use. A majority of the patients identified as tobacco users were offered or provided counseling as well as medications to help them quit.

The 2016 IQI program recognized hospitals that showed improvement in obstetrics and tobacco use screening and treatment. Hospitals were required to meet specific goals for at least 80 percent of eligible measures, including sending blood samples of newborns to the Arkansas Department of Health for screening and offering treatment for tobacco use.

The Arkansas Hospital Association, Arkansas Medicaid and AFMC worked together to develop the IQI program, which has earned national attention for its innovative involvement with the health care community. This program reflects a growing movement toward rewarding hospitals for commitment to quality and providing evidence-based care to their patients.

Hospitals awarded:

  • Baptist Health Medical Center- Hot Springs County
  • Baptist Health Medical Center- Little Rock
  • Baptist Health Medical Center- North Little Rock
  • Helena Regional Medical Center
  • Jefferson Regional Medical Center
  • Medical Center of South Arkansas
  • NEA Baptist Memorial Hospital
  • Saint Marys Regional Medical Center
  • Saline Memorial Hospital
  • Siloam Springs Memorial Hospital
  • Sparks Regional Medical Center
  • St. Bernards Medical Center
  • Unity Health – Harris Hospital
  • Unit Health- White County Medical Center
  • Washington Regional Medical Center