International competition lauds quality of health promotion tools

The Academy of Interactive and Visual Arts (AIVA) has announced that the Arkansas Foundation for Medical Care (AFMC) has won four awards in its 23rd annual Communicator Awards competition.

The education campaign developed by AFMC for long-acting reversible contraception (LARC) was selected by the AIVA to receive a 2017 Communicator Award of Excellence for integrated campaigns. The LARC campaign, which included a video; English, Spanish and Marshallese booklets; posters; bookmarks; and a teaching flip chart, was developed with AFMC’s Medicaid Quality Improvement team as a project for Arkansas Medicaid.

AFMC also earned three additional Communicator Awards Distinction, which recognizes projects that exceed industry standards in quality and achievement, for these projects:

  • Teen drinking, smoking, and prescription abuse bookmarks
  • AR State of Well Being Report on Substance Abuse 2016 Spring Book
  • Wash your hands poster

“We’re honored to be recognized internationally for the educational work we do to improve health and health care,” said Ray Hanley, president and chief executive officer of AFMC.

The Communicator Awards is the leading international awards program recognizing creative excellence for marketing and communications professionals. The competition receives more than 6,000 entries from companies and agencies of all sizes, making it one of the largest and most competitive award program of its kind in the world.

AFMC’s work faced tough competition. Some of the companies that also received awards include Adobe, Kellogg, Doctors Without Borders and Lockheed Martin.

AIVA Executive Director Linda Day said, “We are amazed by the quality of work and applaud this year’s winners for their dedication to perfecting their craft as they continue to push the envelope of creativity.”

The Communicator Awards honor the best in advertising, corporate communications, public relations and identity work for print, video and interactive media. The awards are judged by the AIVA, an invitation-only member organization of leading professionals from various disciplines of the visual arts dedicated to embracing progress and the evolving nature of both traditional and interactive media.

A complete list of winners is available at